3 More Rounds

Rodriguez-Baker added to May 23 PBC card in Boston

111613-edwin-rodriguez-512x288

Light heavyweight contender Edwin Rodriguez (26-1, 17 KOs) will be taking on unbeaten Craig Baker (16-0, 12 KOs) on May 23 in Boston as part of a special Memorial Day weekend edition of Premier Boxing Champions on NBC.

The live PBC on NBC event starts at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT and goes until 6:00 pm. ET/3:00 p.m. PT when the action switches over to NBCSN from 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT until 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT.

On the undercard, Javier Fortuna (27-0-1, 20 KOs) will take on Bryan Vazquez (34-1, 18 KOs) in support of the super middleweight contest between Andre Dirrell (24-1, 16 KOs) and James DeGale (20-1, 14 KOs).

“I’m going to take advantage of this opportunity to be on this great card,” said Rodriguez. “I will show the world and all the top light heavyweights, especially Kovalev, Stevenson and Fonfara, that I am a force to be reckoned with by taking Craig Baker’s undefeated record in an entertaining fashion.”

“I’m well prepared to seize the opportunity that this fight presents,” said Baker. “A win on May 23 puts me closer to a world title fight and I’ve only dreamed of actually accomplishing something that big. I’ve seen Rodriguez in action before and he’s a good fighter, but I’m working to be in great condition so that I can put on a show for the fight fans in Boston. We’re having a great camp and making major accomplishments, things should be pretty interesting.”

Leave a Reply