3 More Rounds

Tarver vs Banks set for Sept. 29 on FS1

Goldenboy

Antonio Tarver continues to fight on at the age of 45. This time he will be taking on heavyweight Johnathan Banks in a special Monday night edition of ‘Golden Boy Live!’

It figures to be a special night for Tarver (30-6, 21 KO.) Not only is he fighting in the main event, his son will be making his professional debut.

“I’m happy to be back in the ring and fighting in Texas for the first time,” Tarver said, who returns to action for the first time since November, 2013. “A win over Johnathon Banks is just what I need to get my shot at the heavyweight title. To come back to boxing on the same day that my son, Antonio Jr. makes his pro-debut; that’s even more rewarding.”

Banks (29-2-1, 19 KO) who also trains heavyweight champion Wladimir Klitschko, is coming off a unanimous decision loss to Seth Mitchell. Looking to get back on track, he says he respects Tarver, but that won’t stop him from winning.

“Tarver is a crafty veteran who deserves respect for what he’s done in the sport,” Banks said. “But his time has passed and I’ll remind him of that on September 29.”

Tarver vs Banks takes place at the State Farm Arena in Hidalgo, Texas and will air on FOX Sports 1 and FOX Deportes on Sept. 29 at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT.

Leave a Reply